Hello developer and user,
I am using code_saturne 3.0.*. I am trouble with auto saving interval of chechpoint. It waste a lot of my computing sources. Can it be modified by change the value like:
if ture:
domain_auto_restart(domain, 200)
return
in 'cs_user_scripts.py'.
Waiting for your reply.
Thanks in advance,
Yu.
How to control the interval of checkpoint
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
-
- Posts: 74
- Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 pm
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hello,
The auto_restart example is for a different use (updating the number of time steps for a restarted calculation, without otherwise changing the calculation options).
Did you check the GUI start/restart section ?
Regards,
Yvan
The auto_restart example is for a different use (updating the number of time steps for a restarted calculation, without otherwise changing the calculation options).
Did you check the GUI start/restart section ?
Regards,
Yvan
-
- Posts: 74
- Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hi Yvan,
I am using the subroutines to set up the case. Can you please give me some ideal about modify the saving interval of checkpoint? I am running the case on the supercomputers, the job would killed if the required time is up.
For example, I had a case had been forced to stop at time step 3228, but the checkpoint started from 2400. There was 800 calculation lost. A small saving interval would help to close this big gap.
Thanks very much.
Yu.
I am using the subroutines to set up the case. Can you please give me some ideal about modify the saving interval of checkpoint? I am running the case on the supercomputers, the job would killed if the required time is up.
For example, I had a case had been forced to stop at time step 3228, but the checkpoint started from 2400. There was 800 calculation lost. A small saving interval would help to close this big gap.
Thanks very much.
Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
The auto_restart example is for a different use (updating the number of time steps for a restarted calculation, without otherwise changing the calculation options).
Did you check the GUI start/restart section ?
Regards,
Yvan
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hello,
If you are using user subroutines, you will find all relevant information in the user manual (ntsuit and control_file).
Regards,
Yvan
If you are using user subroutines, you will find all relevant information in the user manual (ntsuit and control_file).
Regards,
Yvan
-
- Posts: 74
- Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hi Yvan,
I check the manual but I did not find any example. Can the control file just contain two lines like:
max_time_step <14000>
checkpoint_time_step <400>
I attached the file as well. Can you please have a look?
Thanks,
Yu.
I check the manual but I did not find any example. Can the control file just contain two lines like:
max_time_step <14000>
checkpoint_time_step <400>
I attached the file as well. Can you please have a look?
Thanks,
Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
If you are using user subroutines, you will find all relevant information in the user manual (ntsuit and control_file).
Regards,
Yvan
- Attachments
-
- control_file.log
- (49 Bytes) Downloaded 704 times
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hello,
You syntax seems correct.
Just test it.
Regards,
Yvan
You syntax seems correct.
Just test it.
Regards,
Yvan
-
- Posts: 74
- Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hi Yvan,
I found a interesting thing that the 'control_file' will be deleted after the simulation running.
I put is in the excecutive directory like '/RESU/20141209-1344'. When I had a look at this directory again, the 'control_file' dissapeared.
Do you have any idea about this? I am using code_saturne 3.0.3.
Thanks,
Yu.
I found a interesting thing that the 'control_file' will be deleted after the simulation running.
I put is in the excecutive directory like '/RESU/20141209-1344'. When I had a look at this directory again, the 'control_file' dissapeared.
Do you have any idea about this? I am using code_saturne 3.0.3.
Thanks,
Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
You syntax seems correct.
Just test it.
Regards,
Yvan
-
- Posts: 74
- Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hi Yvan,
I putted the 'control_file' in the directory <Study_Case>/RESU/********-****, which should be my executive directory.
It seems the 'control_file' did not work.
The attached is the 'control_file' and 'cs_user_scripts.py'. Can you please have a look?
I can't thank you enough for your help.
Yu
I putted the 'control_file' in the directory <Study_Case>/RESU/********-****, which should be my executive directory.
It seems the 'control_file' did not work.
The attached is the 'control_file' and 'cs_user_scripts.py'. Can you please have a look?
I can't thank you enough for your help.
Yu
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
You syntax seems correct.
Just test it.
Regards,
Yvan
- Attachments
-
- cs_user_scripts.py
- (12.82 KiB) Downloaded 668 times
-
- control_file.log
- (48 Bytes) Downloaded 688 times
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint
Hello,
Sorry, I did not notice the < and > characters in the control file.
You must remove those (in most Linux manuals, you will find < > to denote required parameters, [ ] to denote optional parameters; we use this same convention).
So you should simply use:
Yvan
Sorry, I did not notice the < and > characters in the control file.
You must remove those (in most Linux manuals, you will find < > to denote required parameters, [ ] to denote optional parameters; we use this same convention).
So you should simply use:
Regards,max_time_step 14000
checkpoint_time_step 400
Yvan