Hello,
I just installed the CS 4.0 version on OpenSuse 13.2,
I set a quick test to check if everything run well, but when I was in the Prepare batch calculation section I did'nt have the number of processors option..
The calculation ran well without any problem, but I would like to be able to decide how many processors I want to use.
Does anyone know why I am not able to choose the number of processors, and if there is a way to correct it ?
Regards,
Quentin
Number of processors
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: Number of processors
Hello,
Did you check during the installation that MPI is present and detected ?
Regards,
Yvan
Did you check during the installation that MPI is present and detected ?
Regards,
Yvan
Re: Number of processors
Hi Yvan, thank you very much for your answer.
I did not pay attention to a MPI file.. should it be in the saturne_build folder ?
Have I to write --with MPI (when I use the make install procedure ?)
Thank you,
Regards,
Quentin
I did not pay attention to a MPI file.. should it be in the saturne_build folder ?
Have I to write --with MPI (when I use the make install procedure ?)
Thank you,
Regards,
Quentin
Re: Number of processors
I uninstall, and try to reinstall : when I use the ./configure --with-cgns --with-hdf5 --with-mpi
I have the following error :
configure: WARNING: no supported environment module commmand detected
configure: WARNING: no BLAS support
configure: error: MPI support is requested, but test for MPI failed!
I tried with the command : ./configure --with-cgns --with-hdf5 CC=mpicc, but there is an error with the C compiler : checking whether the C compiler works... no
(I tried to run an gcc helloworld.c and everything worked..).
When I try the install with the code_saturne.py I have an error during the configure stage, and config.log gives me :
configure:4614: /usr/lib64/mpi/gcc/openmpi/bin/mpicc -V >&5
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-V'
gcc: fatal error: no input files
However I have the openmpi and openmpi-dev installed, i also installed mpich and mpich-dev, and lam and lam-dev..
I don't know why it doesn't want to install with MPI... If you have any suggestion
I have the following error :
configure: WARNING: no supported environment module commmand detected
configure: WARNING: no BLAS support
configure: error: MPI support is requested, but test for MPI failed!
I tried with the command : ./configure --with-cgns --with-hdf5 CC=mpicc, but there is an error with the C compiler : checking whether the C compiler works... no
(I tried to run an gcc helloworld.c and everything worked..).
When I try the install with the code_saturne.py I have an error during the configure stage, and config.log gives me :
configure:4614: /usr/lib64/mpi/gcc/openmpi/bin/mpicc -V >&5
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-V'
gcc: fatal error: no input files
However I have the openmpi and openmpi-dev installed, i also installed mpich and mpich-dev, and lam and lam-dev..
I don't know why it doesn't want to install with MPI... If you have any suggestion
-
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:42 pm
Re: Number of processors
Hello,
In Section 6.5 of the install guide you can get additional information about MPI. Also, you can check and post the config.log in order to get detailed information about the error message.
Did you try to run a parallel helloworld?
Regards,
Luciano
In Section 6.5 of the install guide you can get additional information about MPI. Also, you can check and post the config.log in order to get detailed information about the error message.
Did you try to run a parallel helloworld?
Regards,
Luciano
Re: Number of processors
Hello Luciano,
I don't know how to use mpi, I tried to find openmpi tuto on the net but I don't really understand them..
I think I will post you my config.log by the afternoon.
Thank you
Regards
Quentin
I don't know how to use mpi, I tried to find openmpi tuto on the net but I don't really understand them..
I think I will post you my config.log by the afternoon.
Thank you
Regards
Quentin
Re: Number of processors
I found how mpi works, so I had to define in my .bashrc the following thing :
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/<way to open mpi>/lib64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
Because I had the libmpi.so.1 not found error, then mpi_hello_wold worked fine.
When I run the ./configure I have the good parameters (such as hdf5 : yes, cgns : yes, MPI : yes)
But when I run the make program I have the following errors :
"collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Makefile:1083: recipe for target 'cs_solver' failed
make[3]: *** [cs_solver] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build/src/apps'
Makefile:872: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build/src'
Makefile:1254: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build'
Makefile:788: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2"
Do you have any idea ?
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/<way to open mpi>/lib64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
Because I had the libmpi.so.1 not found error, then mpi_hello_wold worked fine.
When I run the ./configure I have the good parameters (such as hdf5 : yes, cgns : yes, MPI : yes)
But when I run the make program I have the following errors :
"collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Makefile:1083: recipe for target 'cs_solver' failed
make[3]: *** [cs_solver] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build/src/apps'
Makefile:872: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build/src'
Makefile:1254: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/Soft/Code_Saturne/saturne_build'
Makefile:788: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2"
Do you have any idea ?
-
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:42 pm
Re: Number of processors
Hello,
No idea about the error. Could you post the config.log in order to get more information about the error and the configure process.
Regards,
Luciano
No idea about the error. Could you post the config.log in order to get more information about the error and the configure process.
Regards,
Luciano
Re: Number of processors
Well I found my mistake, I add to my configure command the --with-mpi-lib, which give the following line : .configure --with-mpi --with-mpi-lib=/pathtothecorrectfolder/lib64
Then I got a lam libraries not found error, so I uninstalled lam/lam-dev (just keep openmpi and openmpi-devel).
And tadaaaa it works. Everything ran well, and now I have the possibility to select the number of processes.
Thank you very much for your help,
Regards,
Quentin
Then I got a lam libraries not found error, so I uninstalled lam/lam-dev (just keep openmpi and openmpi-devel).
And tadaaaa it works. Everything ran well, and now I have the possibility to select the number of processes.
Thank you very much for your help,
Regards,
Quentin