Coupled simulation of two Code_Saturne instances

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
lb_yuan

Coupled simulation of two Code_Saturne instances

Post by lb_yuan »

I am a beginner of Code_Saturne. Recently, I carried out a coupled simulation of two code_saturne instances, which is a 3D T-junction with a velocity inlet at the bottom (4m/s), a outlet on the left hand side of the top structure and another inlet on the right hand side of the top structure (1m/s). The top and bottom structures were simulated with separate unsteady solvers and coupled with each other at the middle interface. The following figures show simulation results of the coupled simulation, in which it is clearly that the continuity equation is not converged - see the sudden jump of pressure field near the interface. I tried various time step sizes and total numbers of iterations, the simulation results all reach a similar steady state as shown in the following figures. I checked the residual of the field variables and found that, for the top structure, all equations are converged, however, for the bottom structure, the normalized residual of the pressure equation remains a value around 0.99 and doesn't change with time advancing. can anybody give me some advice about this? Many thanks
Attachments
Velocity field of a non-coupled simulation
Velocity field of a non-coupled simulation
Pressure field of a coupled simulation
Pressure field of a coupled simulation
Velocity field of a coupled simulation
Velocity field of a coupled simulation
Yvan Fournier

Re: Coupled simulation of two Code_Saturne instances

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

Could you provide more details on your setup, as per the general forum recommendations ?

How do you couple the domains ? Are you using the direct boundary condition (explict in time) coupling ? (which is not very beginner-friendly) ?

Regards,

Yvan
lb_yuan

Post by lb_yuan »