PYQT issue

All questions about installation
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Post Reply
carl_st
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:07 am

PYQT issue

Post by carl_st »

Hello I'm trying to install version 5.0.4 on Mac (high Sierra).
During configuration I get the following error: "configure: error: cannot find PyQt5 support (>= 5.0) or PyQt4 support (>= 4.5), Graphical User Interface cannot be installed"

Please note that:
- both Pyqt4 and pyqt5 are correctly installed
- i have tried specifying "./configure PYUIC4=/usr/local/Cellar/pyqt@4/4.12.1/bin/pyuic4 PYRCC4=/usr/local/Cellar/pyqt@4/4.12.1/bin/pyrcc4" but the error is still present
- i have tried specifying --with-python_exec=/usr/bin
- I have tried reinstalling python, qt and pyqt

Any help will be highly appreciated.
Best regards,
CS
Attachments
config.log
(221.39 KiB) Downloaded 303 times
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: PYQT issue

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

-with-python_exec=/usr/bin

should not be supported anymore, but

PYTHON=/usr/bin/python

should work.

Could you try in a terminal:

Code: Select all

import sys, string
try: import PyQt5
except ImportError: sys.exit(1)
from PyQt5.QtCore import *
if list(map(int, QT_VERSION_STR.split('.'))) < [5,0,0]: sys.exit(1)
if list(map(int, PYQT_VERSION_STR.split('.'))) < [5,0,0]: sys.exit(1)
sys.exit(0)]"
and post the output ? OR do the same with PyQt4 ? This is the basic test used in the code for PyQt support, so should allow logging errors.

Regards,

Yvan
carl_st
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:07 am

Re: PYQT issue

Post by carl_st »

First of all, thanks for you answer.
-setting python path didn't work
-qt4 output is attached

regards
CS
Attachments
Output1.txt
(5.39 KiB) Downloaded 329 times
carl_st
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:07 am

Re: PYQT issue

Post by carl_st »

Also, PYTHON=/usr/local/bin/python3 seems to be producing a fine output. I'll try and let you know asap.
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: PYQT issue

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

I forgot to mention in my previous post that the commands I listed should be typed in a Python shell... Could you try that ?

It is possible as that you installed PyQt only for Python. In this case, forcing PYTHON=..
to use python3 should work.

Regards,

Yvan
Post Reply