Laval nozzle

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
kemmerch

Laval nozzle

Post by kemmerch »

Good morning and a happy new year,

I am completely new to Code_Saturne and I am struggling with my first model. I am running Code-Saturne version 4.3.1 on a windows 7 operating system and so far, for the setup I have just used the GUI.

I am trying to simulate a two-dimensional flow through a laval nozzle shape. Inlet pressure is 4.98 bar, inlet temperature 462 K and the speed equals 118.90 m/s (Ma*_inlet = 0.3). The outlet conditions are: Ma*_outlet = 1.5, p_outlet = p_ambience = 101325 Pa, T_outlet = T_ambience = 293.15 K.

I don’t understand why and how I have to initialize i.e. pressure and density. In case I set their values to zero I receive the following error message:

../../../src/cfbl/cs_cf_thermo.c:284: Fatal error.
Error in thermodynamics computations for compressible flows
:
Negative values of the density were encountered in 5936 cells.

If I initialize the pressure and density with p_ambience and density_ambience = 1.204 kg/m^3 I get a different error message.
The xml file as well as the error message and a picture of the meshed geometry are attached to this post.

I appreciate any kind of help.

Best regards,
Chris
Attachments
Lavalduese_mesh.PNG
error_r2.txt
(1.25 KiB) Downloaded 312 times
Lavalduese_case01.xml
(9.06 KiB) Downloaded 383 times
Yvan Fournier

Re: Laval nozzle

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello and Happy New Year to you too,

The second error seems strange. We just released 4.3.2, but do not have the Windows build yet (the Windows build is a bit complex and I am not too familiar with it).

I may try to see if I can reproduce your error, but the coming week will be very busy (preparing for branching of version 5.0), so there may be a few days wait.

Best regards,

Yvan
kemmerch

Post by kemmerch »

Hello Yvan,