General issues with Code Saturne

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Jean-Marc Blanquies

General issues with Code Saturne

Post by Jean-Marc Blanquies »

Hi,

I'm new with Code-Saturne and Salomé. I only made two simple cases in 2D : flow inside a circular pipe and the flow around a backward facing step. Results were quite good so i decided to go on with Salomé/saturne in my CFD project.

The main goal is to find the distance between the top of a vertical plate and the place where the flow isn't modificated by the plate.

I decided to construct a simple 2D geometry described after in attachments.

I meshed my geometry using the 1D algo Nb Segments and the ScaleFactor option for having a first cell with a correct y+.

Then, i have imported my med mesh in saturne and check my hypothesys.

I used K omega SST with an inlet velocity of 33,33m/s.

But, in the end, after the processing my velocity is constant and equal to 33,33m/s in all my volume.

Here are my question :

For the geometry :
- Is there a problem with my geometry ?
- Is there a problem with my symetry condition on the bottom of the geometry ?
- Is there an other way to made the plate inside my air flow ?

For the mesh :
- Am i correct in considering a first cell at 0,006m of distance with the plate ? (Inlet velocity of 33,33m/s and a y+ near 500 for a 1 layer k omega sst)
- How does the Nb Segment work ?

I assume that as the Space factor is the ratio of the last and the first cell and as the nb of segment correspond to the n number in the Geometric progression (Un=U0*k^n).
In this way k=SpaceFactor^(1/Nb Segment)
and U0 is defined as S*[1-SpaceFactor^(1/Nb Segment)]/(1-SpaceFactor),

In my work and assuming this things i determined SpaceFactor and Nb segment to have a first cell on my wall near 0,006m and a last cell near 50 times bigger.