CGNS mesh not processing fully

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
saintlyknighted

CGNS mesh not processing fully

Post by saintlyknighted »

Hello,

I'm just starting out in using Code_Saturne, and I'm currently using Star-CCM+ to generate my mesh which would then be exported in the CGNS format and imported into Code_Saturne. The mesh seems to be imported successfully, but mid-way through processing it throws up a "SIGSEGV signal (access to forbidden memory area) intercepted" error (as in the preprocessor.log attached). Have no idea what this means so I figured I'd ask here for some advice, whether I might need any other steps in order to get it to work.

The Code_Saturne version that I'm using now is 7.0.4, and I'm running it on Windows Subsystem for Linux. To the best of my knowledge I've installed the HDF5, CGNS and MED packages successfully (edited the setup file after running the install_saturne.py script once).

Thanks!
Attachments
preprocessor.log
(3.86 KiB) Downloaded 79 times
Yvan Fournier

Re: CGNS mesh not processing fully

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

This looks like a bug, or at least a robustness issue.

Could you post a small mesh exhibiting this behavior, or send one through a file sharing tool if larger than a few Mb ?

Best regards,

Yvan
saintlyknighted

Here's the link to the mesh file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ft682h58oi0pv ... .cgns?dl=0

The mesh itself is fairly coarse, and the file is what I obtained by exporting the mesh data from Star-CCM+. I might try generating some other mesh tomorrow and importing it to see if the bug is replicated - honestly did not think of doing that yet.

Appreciate the help.
Yvan Fournier

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

I can reproduce the issue all CGNS library versions I tested with (3.4, 4.3, 4.4).

Using a debug version of CGNS, I can get an idea of where the issue lies, but it seem a CGNS call does not read some data.