Flow around a cylinder / Mesh with an inner wall

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Aurélien J

Flow around a cylinder / Mesh with an inner wall

Post by Aurélien J »

Hello,

Related to my previous post, I am willing to carry out 2D simulations of flow-induced vibration of cylinders with different cross sections. I am quite new in Code_Saturne.

I have started producing my own meshes using Salome, but the meshes I made produce a boundary condition error when I start the computation, even when I don't use the ALE mesh movement. The preprocessing seems to run normally. I know it is a mesh of poor quality but I would first like to have a computation running properly.
mesh_square.jpeg

Code: Select all

First face with boundary condition definition error
  (out of 1)
  has boundary condition type 0, center (0.4, 0.9, 2)

cs_boundary_conditions.c:429: Fatal error.
I tried without the square in the middle, so basically a 2D mesh where nothing happens, and there the computation runs without any error. So it seems that the problem lies in the boundary region of the square (same problem with a circle).

I also tried to modify the orientation of the faces of that inner boundary region but it failed as well.

I used Code_Saturne 2.0.2. I did also one computation with Code_Saturne 3.0.1 and it wasn't successful either.

Attached are the xml file, the mesh, the preprocessor listing and the log file with the error. I would be grateful for ideas about how I can avoid this error.

Regards,
Aurélien
Attachments
troucarreAvecVolume.xml
(5.65 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
mesh_and_list.tar
(230 KiB) Downloaded 197 times
Yvan Fournier

Re: Flow around a cylinder / Mesh with an inner wall

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,