Mass source term and periodicity

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
mdegonville

Mass source term and periodicity

Post by mdegonville »

Hello everybody,

I'm using the brand new CS 3.0.0, with GUI, and I want to simulate a simple tube with periodicity between inlet and outlet to get a fully developed flow in the whole domain.
The problem is that the mass flow decreases until it reaches 0: so I wrote a subroutine using the ustsma.f90 examples, with a gamma calculated from the difference between the reference velocity (or a given mass flow) and the actual mass flow, inspired by answers that I found on this forum (I'm a beginner in FORTRAN 90).

But nothing happens, I mean, the file is compilated without error and the values are computed (I did some print within the file to check it out), but the mass flow keeps decreasing whatever the value of gamma.

Any idea about what is wrong in my code?

Thanks a lot,

Maximilien
Attachments
ustsma.f90
(14.75 KiB) Downloaded 243 times
Yvan Fournier

Re: Mass source term and periodicity

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

I have'nt checked your ustsma.f90 file in detail, but mass source terms are useful for representation of mass sources or sinks only. So I suspect the flow simply "slows down" in your case (you can check looking at the maximum velcoity). For a periodic tube, you probably do not need to inject mass, but need to keep the flow moving, using a velocity source term, which means programmng ustsnv (or ustsns if using the ivelco = 0 keyword value).