Hello I'm trying to install version 6.0.2 on ubuntu18.04
During configuration I get the following error: "configure: error: cannot find PyQt5 support (>= 5.0) or PyQt4 support (>= 4.5), Graphical User Interface cannot be installed"
Please note that: I have installed python, qt5, pyqt5and sip
i try in a terminal:
import sys, string
try: import PyQt5
except ImportError: sys.exit(1)
from PyQt5.QtCore import *
if list(map(int, QT_VERSION_STR.split('.'))) < [5,0,0]: sys.exit(1)
if list(map(int, PYQT_VERSION_STR.split('.'))) < [5,0,0]: sys.exit(1)
sys.exit(0)]"
result is following:
GUI ISSUE
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
-
- Posts: 4206
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: GUI ISSUE
Hello,
Were you careful with the indentaton in the terminal ?
In any case, when testing from a terminal/Python console, the following should be enough:
If this fails, it means you need to install additional python3/Qt5 packages (Ubuntu tends to change the package names once in a while, so I do not remember the exact names, though it would be useful to keep track of them on the GitHub Wiki, since this is a recurring problem... I'll try to do this today.
Best regards,
Yvan
Were you careful with the indentaton in the terminal ?
In any case, when testing from a terminal/Python console, the following should be enough:
Code: Select all
import PyQt5
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: GUI ISSUE
you see ,i have installed PyQt5 by"pip3 install PyQt5"
but during configuration I get the following error: "configure: error: cannot find PyQt5 support (>= 5.0) or PyQt4 support (>= 4.5), Graphical User Interface cannot be installed"
but during configuration I get the following error: "configure: error: cannot find PyQt5 support (>= 5.0) or PyQt4 support (>= 4.5), Graphical User Interface cannot be installed"
-
- Posts: 4206
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: GUI ISSUE
Hello,
The installation might be using Python2 by default.
If using the autotools ("configure" , make, ...) level, add "PYTHON=python3" to the "configure" command.
If using the "install_saturne.py", set Python to /usr/bin/python3.
Best regards,
Yvan
The installation might be using Python2 by default.
If using the autotools ("configure" , make, ...) level, add "PYTHON=python3" to the "configure" command.
If using the "install_saturne.py", set Python to /usr/bin/python3.
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: GUI ISSUE
yes,you are right.i set Python to /usr/bin/python3,and it works.
but i have another trouble now.it seems that there are some problems with pyrcc5
but i have another trouble now.it seems that there are some problems with pyrcc5
-
- Posts: 4206
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: GUI ISSUE
Hello,
I'm not sure about this one, but is seems the pyrcc version installed with pip is not compatible with your system libraries.
Why can't you simply use the Ubuntu PyQt5 packages ? At least you would have consistent libraries and updates. Otherwise, you might have a mix of pip-installed and Ubuntu pyrcc5 (depending on the sourced environment variables).
Best regards,
Yvan
I'm not sure about this one, but is seems the pyrcc version installed with pip is not compatible with your system libraries.
Why can't you simply use the Ubuntu PyQt5 packages ? At least you would have consistent libraries and updates. Otherwise, you might have a mix of pip-installed and Ubuntu pyrcc5 (depending on the sourced environment variables).
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: GUI ISSUE
i install PyQt5 by"pip3 install PyQt5",install sip by"pip3 install sip" install qt5 by"sudo apt install qt5-default"
I am a novice,can you tell me where the ubuntu PyQt5 packages are,and how can i install them in my ubuntu
I am a novice,can you tell me where the ubuntu PyQt5 packages are,and how can i install them in my ubuntu
Re: GUI ISSUE
i got it!thank you very much,Yvan Fournier.
i install PyQt5 by"sudo apt-get install pyqt5-dev"and"sudo apt-get install pyqt5-dev-tools"
hope this can help more people!
i install PyQt5 by"sudo apt-get install pyqt5-dev"and"sudo apt-get install pyqt5-dev-tools"
hope this can help more people!
-
- Posts: 4206
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: GUI ISSUE
Hello,
Yes, there are cases where the discribution packages may be too old, and where upgrading the distribution is not an option, but otherwise, when packages are available through a distribution, this is the first choice, as it usually leads to less consistency issues.
We have also had quite a few installation issues recently with users who installed packages using Anaconda, and did not master the subtleties well enough, for similar reasons.
I'll try to remember to add a Wiki section and mention pyqt5-dev and pyqt5-dev-tools,
Best regards,
Yvan
Yes, there are cases where the discribution packages may be too old, and where upgrading the distribution is not an option, but otherwise, when packages are available through a distribution, this is the first choice, as it usually leads to less consistency issues.
We have also had quite a few installation issues recently with users who installed packages using Anaconda, and did not master the subtleties well enough, for similar reasons.
I'll try to remember to add a Wiki section and mention pyqt5-dev and pyqt5-dev-tools,
Best regards,
Yvan