Hello Everyone,
I' m working on the simulation of wind turbine and I need to monitor the torque(moment) coefficient of one blade to the central axis in every time step. How can I achieve that in code_saturne? Thank you.
Yany.
torque coefficient
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: torque coefficient
Hello,
We need to add a function to do this, but in the meantime, you should activate postprocessing output of boundary stresses.
You can the integrate the torque based on those stresses either by looping over selected faces in the cs_user_extra_operations user function, or in a separate postprocessing tool such as ParaView.
Best regards,
Yvan
We need to add a function to do this, but in the meantime, you should activate postprocessing output of boundary stresses.
You can the integrate the torque based on those stresses either by looping over selected faces in the cs_user_extra_operations user function, or in a separate postprocessing tool such as ParaView.
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: torque coefficient
Hello Yvan,Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
We need to add a function to do this, but in the meantime, you should activate postprocessing output of boundary stresses.
You can the integrate the torque based on those stresses either by looping over selected faces in the cs_user_extra_operations user function, or in a separate postprocessing tool such as ParaView.
Best regards,
Yvan
Thanks for your reply.
The postprocessing output of boundary stress can be activated by GUI or other ways?
Now I 'm using the turbomachinery module to simulate the turbine. I found some information about Turbomachinery dedicated postprocessing functions (cs_post_moment_of_force, cs_post_turbomachinery_head) . I'm wondering if these could help me get the lift and drag coefficient and moment coefficient I need?
Thank you.
Yany.
Re: torque coefficient
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
We need to add a function to do this, but in the meantime, you should activate postprocessing output of boundary stresses.
You can the integrate the torque based on those stresses either by looping over selected faces in the cs_user_extra_operations user function, or in a separate postprocessing tool such as ParaView.
Best regards,
Yvan
Hello Yvan,
I searched the information related to the turbulence module on Code_Saturne documentation and found some functions for calculating the moment of rotor(but I'm not sure).
Can I add them to the cs_user_extra_operations.f90 to get the postprocssing result I need?
Thank you very much.
Yany
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: torque coefficient
Hello,
Ys, you are correct. I had forgotten about the recent additions of "utility" functions found in src/examples/cs_user_extra_operations-turbomachinery.c, also described here: http://code-saturne.org/doxygen/src/turbomachinery.html.
The moment of force should be exactly what you need.
Best regards,
Yvan
Ys, you are correct. I had forgotten about the recent additions of "utility" functions found in src/examples/cs_user_extra_operations-turbomachinery.c, also described here: http://code-saturne.org/doxygen/src/turbomachinery.html.
The moment of force should be exactly what you need.
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: torque coefficient
Hello Yvan,Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
Ys, you are correct. I had forgotten about the recent additions of "utility" functions found in src/examples/cs_user_extra_operations-turbomachinery.c, also described here: http://code-saturne.org/doxygen/src/turbomachinery.html.
The moment of force should be exactly what you need.
Best regards,
Yvan
So sorry to bother you again. But I cannot find the file src/examples/cs_user_extra_operations-turbomachinery.c in Code_satune 4.0.5. Another question is that how can I use that file? Do I need to add the related functions to the cs_user_extra_operations.f90?
All the best, Yany.
-
- Posts: 4208
- Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Re: torque coefficient
Hello,
These are new functions in version 5.0. They did not exist in version 4.0, so you need either to adapt the code from src/base/cs_post_util.c in version 5.0 to your user functions, or upgrade to version 5.0.
I recommend 5.0.
Best regards,
Yvan
These are new functions in version 5.0. They did not exist in version 4.0, so you need either to adapt the code from src/base/cs_post_util.c in version 5.0 to your user functions, or upgrade to version 5.0.
I recommend 5.0.
Best regards,
Yvan
Re: torque coefficient
Hello Yvan,Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,
These are new functions in version 5.0. They did not exist in version 4.0, so you need either to adapt the code from src/base/cs_post_util.c in version 5.0 to your user functions, or upgrade to version 5.0.
I recommend 5.0.
Best regards,
Yvan
Thanks a lot. I have installed version 5.0 and found the file cs_user_extra_operations turbomachin
ery.c in SRC/EXAMPLES.... Could you please give me some suggestions on how to use this example file in my case?
Thank you very much.
Yany.