Run case in remote server from local GUI

All questions about installation
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Post Reply
niuniuaba
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:22 am

Run case in remote server from local GUI

Post by niuniuaba »

Hi there,

I have a server (not a cluster no any batch system, just a single workstation but much powerful than a laptop) and a laptop both running Ubuntu 20.04. I am wondering if it is possible to setup a case with code_saturne GUI in my laptop but run the calculation in the server. Point is, is it possible to do this through the local GUI?

Thanks in advance.
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 3424
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: Run case in remote server from local GUI

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

This cannot be done in an automated manner yet (though it is on the roadmap, and some changes in v7.0 help prepare for this).

It can be done easily in a "manual" manner: you can prepare the case with the GUI on a workstation, and copy it to the server and run it there without needing the GUI on the server.

Best regards,

Yvan
niuniuaba
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:22 am

Re: Run case in remote server from local GUI [solved]

Post by niuniuaba »

Hello Yvan,

Thanks for quick response.
Yes I can copy case to remote server and run launch script through ssh and then copy back the results when finished.
I also managed to do the copy through CFDSTUDY module and launch script through JOBMANAGER module in SALOME. At this moment I found the ssh way is more convenient. But for me it would be nice to have a more straightforward way through the local GUI (something like what can be done in ASTERSTUDY module for Code_aster in SALOME).

Thanks again.

Best regards,

niuniuaba
Post Reply