Atmospheric module : boundaries and meteo file

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
SimBu

Atmospheric module : boundaries and meteo file

Post by SimBu »

Dear saturners,

I have dealt with the atmospheric for only few weeks, so I warn you, I'm still a beginner.

I am trying to run a simulation where wind blows over a mountain. The case is pretty easy to understand :
  • I want a transcient simulation,
  • Wind is blowing from the east,
  • North and south are symmetries
  • The floor is divided in 2 : ground and mountain
  • Top is set to inlet, meteorological profile from data (such as advocated in the user guide)
  • The domain is : 6 km of length (3 before the ountain and 3 after). - I know it is a little bit to small but I will resize it soon. -
  • For now, it is dry atmosphere but I want eventually humid atmosphere
I initially carried out the study in two dimensions, before launching the calculation in 3D and nothing was needed to be reported.
However in 3D, my calculation diverges regardless of the efforts made to stabilize the model. I checked several times my mesh which is ok (salome mesh quality report linked below).

** With automatic meteo file generated, I tried to change the inlet / outlet :
The simulation crashes when :

1) east: inlet, meteorological profile from data, Automatic inlet/outlet nature from data
west: inlet, meteorological profile from data, Automatic inlet/outlet nature from data

2) east: inlet, meteorological profile from data,
west: outlet, meteorological profile from data

However, it runs pretty well when

3) east: inlet, meteorological profile from data
west: inlet, meteorological profile from data

I do not understand why... The user guide advocates to set the (1) but it is the one wich crash the earlier....

** With User meteo file provided (the parameters are set really close to the automatic profile)