Best practice restarting case

Questions and remarks about Code_Saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
Post Reply
AHIC
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:31 am

Best practice restarting case

Post by AHIC » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:45 pm

Hello,

I'm not able to launch my simulation with the previous data study. What is it the best practice for the restarting case please ?

Best regards,

Antech
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:02 am

Re: Best practice restarting case

Post by Antech » Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:55 pm

Hello. When you choose to restart the calculation, Saturne immediately asks you for the results directory. In the window appeared choose the checkpoint directory of the previous run. Then it should restart normally.

Please note that Saturne 5.x only supports simple restarts with the same mesh (without interpolation). In some cases calculation will not run properly even on the same mesh. For example, if you changed the turbulence model from SST to RSM in high-velocity aerodynamic case, the solution may diverge or it will take enormous time per timestep so it's more practical to just start the new calculation with RSM and first-order approximation, switching to the second order then.

If you choose the checkpoint directory right but the calculation doesn't restart, please, provide the listing file for developers to be able to check what's wrong with the restart algo or with the case itself.

tpa
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:35 pm

Re: Best practice restarting case

Post by tpa » Mon May 27, 2019 8:03 pm

Have you increased the number of iterations for the restart?

Post Reply