CodeError

Questions and remarks about code_saturne usage
Forum rules
Please read the forum usage recommendations before posting.
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

CodeError

Post by HBELG »

Hello,

I attached a listing of a simulation of a few number of iterations (just 8), I didn't get what to have to do to solve the problem, does anyone got the same error?

Thanks

Houda
Attachments
listing.log
(1.87 KiB) Downloaded 205 times
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

The computation seems to be stuck, or in any case did not produce an error log, so it is hard to determine what went wrong.

Do you have other error mesages in the terminal you started the code from or if you are using a batch system on the job's error or output logs ?

Regards,

Yvan
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by HBELG »

I attached the other files that might clarify,

thanks
Houda
Attachments
summary.log
(4.58 KiB) Downloaded 197 times
preprocessor.log
(6.35 KiB) Downloaded 199 times
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

No, these files do not provide enough info, except that the preprocessor seems to have worked normally (but that was already expected since you had passed that stage).

Did you run the code or the GUI from a terminal ? Do you have error messages there ?

Also, do you have user subroutines ? Is this a manual or Ubuntu package version ?

Regards,

Yvan
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by HBELG »

yes I run the GUI from a terminal but I don't have message of error in it only:
---------------
finished with exit code 1
-----------
And This is the information that I have got on the GUI :



Code_Saturne
************

Version: 4.2
Path: /usr

Result directory:
/home/hbelgacem/Bureau/PlaceGraslin/essaiND8/RESU/20180614-1416



****************************
Preparing calculation data
****************************

Parallel Code_Saturne on 4 processes.


***************************
Preprocessing calculation
***************************


**********************
Starting calculation
**********************

At line 215 of file initi1.f90
At line 215 of file initi1.f90
Fortran runtime error: Bad unit number in statement
At line 215 of file initi1.f90
Fortran runtime error: Bad unit number in statement
At line 215 of file initi1.f90
Fortran runtime error: Bad unit number in statement
-------------------------------------------------------
Primary job terminated normally, but 1 process returned
a non-zero exit code.. Per user-direction, the job has been aborted.
-------------------------------------------------------
Fortran runtime error: Bad unit number in statement
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
mpiexec.openmpi detected that one or more processes exited with non-zero status, thus causing
the job to be terminated. The first process to do so was:

Process name: [[15421,1],0]
Exit code: 2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

****************************
Saving calculation results
****************************

solver script exited with status 2.

Error running the calculation.

Check Code_Saturne log (listing) and error* files for details.

Error in calculation stage.
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

The crash is in a simple Fortran write statement (see https://github.com/code-saturne/code_sa ... initi1.f90), and there should be other outputs using this same file before, so this is very strange. This may be due to a previous error. Running under Valgrind may help (see debug options in advanced run settings in GUI).

Do you have user subroutines ? Did you test on a debug build ? Did you test running on a single process ?

Version 4.2.0 does not include any of the 4.2 branh bugfixes (the latest compatible version is 4.2.4), and the 4.2 branch is not supported anymore (currently supported versions are 5.2, 5.1, 5.0, and 4.0).

Regards,

Yvan
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by HBELG »

Hello,

Thanks for repplying, honestly I didn't understand what is the "user subroutines", or a "debug build", and I run it on 4 processes,
I tried to install the code saturne 5.0, and this what I get as a message every time i try to lunsh 'install_saturne.py':

------
Error during configure stage of Code_Saturne.
See install_saturne.log for more information.
---------
and the command: " tail -n -50 /home/..../Téléchargements/code_saturne-5.0.8/ install_saturne.log"

I get this one

------------
==> /home/hbelgacem/Téléchargements/code_saturne-5.0.8/ <==
tail: erreur de lecture '/home/hbelgacem/Téléchargements/code_saturne-5.0.8/': est un dossier

==> install_saturne.log <==
checking for BSD- or MS-compatible name lister (nm)... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking the name lister (/usr/bin/nm -B) interface... BSD nm
checking the maximum length of command line arguments... 1572864
checking whether the shell understands some XSI constructs... yes
checking whether the shell understands "+="... yes
checking how to convert x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu file names to x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu format... func_convert_file_noop
checking how to convert x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu file names to toolchain format... func_convert_file_noop
checking for /usr/bin/ld option to reload object files... -r
checking for objdump... objdump
checking how to recognize dependent libraries... pass_all
checking for dlltool... no
checking how to associate runtime and link libraries... printf %s\n
checking for archiver @FILE support... @
checking for strip... strip
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking command to parse /usr/bin/nm -B output from /usr/bin/mpicc object... ok
checking for sysroot... no
checking for mt... mt
checking if mt is a manifest tool... no
checking how to run the C preprocessor... /usr/bin/mpicc -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking for objdir... .libs
checking if /usr/bin/mpicc supports -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions... no
checking for /usr/bin/mpicc option to produce PIC... -fPIC -DPIC
checking if /usr/bin/mpicc PIC flag -fPIC -DPIC works... yes
checking if /usr/bin/mpicc static flag -static works... no
checking if /usr/bin/mpicc supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking if /usr/bin/mpicc supports -c -o file.o... (cached) yes
---

Can you help me with this?

Thank you
Yvan Fournier
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by Yvan Fournier »

Hello,

You have a whitespace in before install_saturne.log in the "tail" command, which causes an error.

Regards,

Yvan
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by HBELG »

I have fixed it, this is what I get:

hbelgacem@hbelgacem-Precision-T1700:~/Téléchargements/code_saturne-5.0.8_build$ ail -n -50 /home/hbelgacem/Téléchargements/code_saturne-5.0.8/install_saturne.log
La commande « ail » est introuvable, vouliez-vous dire :
La commande « aidl » du paquet « aidl » (universe)
La commande « axl » du paquet « afnix » (universe)
La commande « sail » du paquet « bsdgames » (universe)
La commande « qail » du paquet « qmail » (universe)
La commande « cil » du paquet « cil » (universe)
La commande « uil » du paquet « uil » (universe)
La commande « al » du paquet « mono-devel » (main)
La commande « ali » du paquet « mailutils-mh » (universe)
La commande « ali » du paquet « nmh » (universe)
La commande « aim » du paquet « abinit » (universe)
La commande « aid » du paquet « id-utils » (universe)
La commande « tail » du paquet « coreutils » (main)
La commande « mail » du paquet « mailutils » (universe)
La commande « pil » du paquet « picolisp » (universe)
ail : commande introuvable

is there a way to fixe the problem?

Thanks again

Houda
HBELG
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: CodeError

Post by HBELG »

I have a syntax mistake again "tail"
Post Reply