Page 1 of 1

How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:19 am
by MartianDuan
Hello developer and user,

I am using code_saturne 3.0.*. I am trouble with auto saving interval of chechpoint. It waste a lot of my computing sources. Can it be modified by change the value like:

if ture:
domain_auto_restart(domain, 200)

return

in 'cs_user_scripts.py'.

Waiting for your reply.

Thanks in advance,

Yu.

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:45 am
by Yvan Fournier
Hello,

The auto_restart example is for a different use (updating the number of time steps for a restarted calculation, without otherwise changing the calculation options).

Did you check the GUI start/restart section ?

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:58 pm
by MartianDuan
Hi Yvan,

I am using the subroutines to set up the case. Can you please give me some ideal about modify the saving interval of checkpoint? I am running the case on the supercomputers, the job would killed if the required time is up.

For example, I had a case had been forced to stop at time step 3228, but the checkpoint started from 2400. There was 800 calculation lost. A small saving interval would help to close this big gap.

Thanks very much.

Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,

The auto_restart example is for a different use (updating the number of time steps for a restarted calculation, without otherwise changing the calculation options).

Did you check the GUI start/restart section ?

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:09 pm
by Yvan Fournier
Hello,

If you are using user subroutines, you will find all relevant information in the user manual (ntsuit and control_file).

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:40 pm
by MartianDuan
Hi Yvan,

I check the manual but I did not find any example. Can the control file just contain two lines like:

max_time_step <14000>
checkpoint_time_step <400>

I attached the file as well. Can you please have a look?

Thanks,

Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,

If you are using user subroutines, you will find all relevant information in the user manual (ntsuit and control_file).

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:42 pm
by Yvan Fournier
Hello,

You syntax seems correct.

Just test it.

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:54 pm
by MartianDuan
Hi Yvan,

I found a interesting thing that the 'control_file' will be deleted after the simulation running.

I put is in the excecutive directory like '/RESU/20141209-1344'. When I had a look at this directory again, the 'control_file' dissapeared.

Do you have any idea about this? I am using code_saturne 3.0.3.

Thanks,

Yu.
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,

You syntax seems correct.

Just test it.

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:55 pm
by MartianDuan
Hi Yvan,

I putted the 'control_file' in the directory <Study_Case>/RESU/********-****, which should be my executive directory.

It seems the 'control_file' did not work.

The attached is the 'control_file' and 'cs_user_scripts.py'. Can you please have a look?

I can't thank you enough for your help.

Yu
Yvan Fournier wrote:Hello,

You syntax seems correct.

Just test it.

Regards,

Yvan

Re: How to control the interval of checkpoint

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:02 pm
by Yvan Fournier
Hello,

Sorry, I did not notice the < and > characters in the control file.

You must remove those (in most Linux manuals, you will find < > to denote required parameters, [ ] to denote optional parameters; we use this same convention).

So you should simply use:
max_time_step 14000
checkpoint_time_step 400
Regards,

Yvan